Select Page

V-model – Software Testing

V-model – Software Testing

Watch This Video

Although the similarities with the sequential method as in waterfall, the V-model includes a number of different test levels, each correspond to a development stage. This allows testing activities to be fully integrated with other tasks in the project life cycle.

Mini cycles show the purpose of each test level, and show the importance of catching defects early.

The V-model also shows how static testing can be carried out during the development stages, before the code is written. Documents are identified which can be reviewed to trap faults as early as possible.

There are many variations of V-model, with slightly different number and description of levels. The ISTQB Foundation exam syllabus refers to a model with 4 test levels:

– Component testing
– Integration testing
– System testing
– Acceptance testing

Then goes on to describe two different integration test levels, so in this demonstration, I’ll describe a V-model with 5 levels of testing instead:

– Component testing
– Component integration testing
– System testing
– System integration testing
– Acceptance testing

About The Author

Rogerio da Silva is a Brazilian who lives in the UK for a little over two decades. He is the owner of a test consulting and outsources services for software development. He likes to blog, write and create content that teaches others how to live a better life. Rogerio has two princesses and one powerful wife that help him with his work. He loves reading biographies of successful authors and dream builders because they inspire him to keep creating!

Leave a reply


Now available on amazon prime

eBook (Amazon)

The Testers Book - An Unconventional Way to Software Testing - Revised Edition

Paperback (