Internet Marketing Glossary of Terms

Internet Marketing Glossary of Terms

[toggles class=”yourcustomclass”]
[toggle title=”Actual CPC” class=”in”]The amount you actually pay for each click, considering your click through rate and the performances of your competitor ads. In this way, you may get to pay less than you bid.[/toggle]
[toggle title=”Ad Group“]An organized group of keywords within a Campaign. Keywords in the same Ad Group trigger the same ad text, or creative. It’s best to group your keywords thematically so you can target ads toward each theme, market, product, or service.[/toggle]
[toggle title=”AdSense“]Google’s contextual ad program for website publishers. Publishers place text ads provided by Google on their site, and earn a portion of the click through revenue.[/toggle]
[toggle title=”AdWords“]Google’s contextual ad program for advertisers. Advertisers receive preferred placement (as Sponsored Links) for given keywords, based on a pay-per-click revenue model.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Algorithm”]The detailed sequence of actions used by search engines to rank web pages. The most famous Search Engine Algorithm is PageRank – Google’s indexing method that assigns different weights to multiple variables of a website, including: keyword density, link popularity, website authority, etc.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Article“]Writing and submitting optimized articles on the subject of your website content is an important and effective aspect of Search Engine Marketing.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Authenticity“]The sense that something or someone is “real.” Blogs enable people to publish content and engage in conversations that show their interests and values, and so help develop an authentic voice online.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Autoresponder“]An autoresponder is a program that automatically sends an email message at a set time or in response to an action taken by a computer. For example, when a visitor to your website requests information by sending you an email or clicking on a link, your autoresponder may automatically reply with a pre-determined email message. You can set up autoresponders to send out sales information, letters, follow-up inquiries, or notices.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Average CPC“]The average amount actual advertisers are paying for each click-through from their ad to their website.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”AWeber“]AWeber Communications develops and manages online opt-in email newsletters, follow-up automation, and email deliverability services for small business customers around the world. (see Autoresponder)[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Banner“]A banner is simply an advertisement displayed on your web page in a traditional banner shape. A banner can display virtually anything, although in e-commerce it is primarily used as an advertising tool that acts as a link to an advertiser’s website. If you publish a newsletter or ezine, you may choose to include banners that promote another company’s product or service. (The standard banner size is 460 pixels wide and 60 pixels high.)[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Benefit“]It’s essential to understand the difference between “features” and “benefits.” Benefits is a marketing term that shifts the focus from product feature to how this feature will benefit the customer. “What’s in it for me?” is the question every visitor will ask himself when looking at a sales message. Unless your sales text is packed with benefit-oriented text, forget about the sale.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Bid“]The amount an advertiser is willing to pay for AdWords traffic per click, for example.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Billboard Side“]The billboard side of the postcard is the “draw”- the attention getter. It will be seen by most recipients. Make sure it is used wisely with a graphic and a headline that screams “read me” to your target market.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Blacklist“]A blacklist is a list of known or suspected senders of spam. Blacklists are maintained by ISPs and spam-fighting organizations – and if your name gets blacklisted, it can be very difficult to have it removed. Legitimate email marketers can stay out of trouble with blacklists by following these guidelines:

  • Use a confirmed opt-in system for collecting email addresses.
  • Include an unsubscribe link in every email you send.
  • Send only materials that reflect the relationship you have established with the people on your list[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Blog Reader“]A platform for reading blogs, similar to Google Reader.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Blog“]A frequently updated website involving reverse-chronological “posts” -or, short opinion, news, or gossip updates, with a collaborative interface. Websites with dated items of content in reverse chronological order, self-published by bloggers. Items – sometimes called posts – may have keyword tags associated with them, are usually available as feeds, and often allow commenting.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Body Copy“]The body copy is the description of your offer and benefits. Use only short sentences that are precise, persuasive, and written in conversational tone. The decision on whether or not to continue to read the postcard happens with every line a prospect reads, so make sure that every word is attention getting or provocative.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Bonus“]An additional benefit in excess of the basic benefit.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Bookmarking“]Saving the address of a website or item of content, either in your browser or on a social bookmarking site like If you add tags, others can easily use your research too.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Bounces“]Email messages that fail to reach their intended destination. “Hard” bounces are caused by invalid email addresses, whereas “soft” bounces are due to temporary conditions, such as overloaded inboxes.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Break-Even Point“]The point at which the costs of producing a product equal the revenue made from selling the product.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Broad Match“]This is the default match option. When you include keyword phrases in your keyword list, your ads will appear when users search for any word in these phrases, in any order – and possibly along with other terms.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Broadcasting“]Simultaneously emailing the same message to multiple recipients.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Browser“]A tool used to view websites, and access all the content available there on screen or by downloading. Browsers may also be used to upload or otherwise contribute content to a blog or other website. Internet Explorer, Firefox, and Safari are some of the most popular browsers.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Bulletin Boards“]The early vehicles for online collaboration, where users connected with a central computer to post and read email-like messages. They were the electronic equivalent of public notice boards. The term is still used for forums.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Call-To-Action“]The call-to-action is essential in every form of media. It is what you are telling your prospect what to do.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Campaign“]Defines the daily budget, language, geographic scope, and the networks where ads are displayed.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Chat“]Interaction on a website, with a number of people adding text items one after the other into the same space at (almost) the same time. A place for chat – chat room – differs from a forum because conversations happen in “real time,” rather as they do face-to-face.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Churn“]A measure of a campaign’s success.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Circulation“]The number of copies of a publication sold or distributed each issue.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Classified Ad“]A brief listing appearing in a periodical of items for sale and/or services offered, usually arranged by category.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Click“]The action of clicking on an advertisement or other graphical or textual element, which triggers the user to visit an advertiser’s website.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Click-through“]A click-through occurs when a user responds to an online advertisement by clicking on a link that takes them to the advertiser’s website. Counting click-throughs gives advertisers a better measurement of website traffic than recording hits (also called “pageviews”). Although click-throughs are an important measurement of the success of an online promotion, they do not reflect the quality of site visitors (i.e., How long did they stay? Which pages of your site did they view?).[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Click-Through-Rate (CTR)“]Click-through-rate is a measurement of the success of an online promotion. It expresses the percentage of viewers of a web page who click through to an advertiser’s site. Currently, the advertising industry average is about 0.5% – which means that out of every 200 people who view an ad, one viewer can be expected to take action by visiting the advertiser’s site.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Click-Through-Tracking“]The process of tracking how many recipients clicked on a particular link in an email message. This is commonly done to measure the success of email marketing campaigns.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Closed Subscription“]A subscription where the list owner must approve all new subscribers before they are added to the list.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Collaboration“]Social media tools from email lists to virtual worlds offer enormous scope for collaboration. Low-risk activities like commenting, social bookmarking, chatting, and blogging help develop the trust necessary for collaboration.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Commitment“]The “social” aspect of social media means that tools are most useful when other people commit to using them too. Commitment will depend on people’s degree of interest in a subject, capability online, preparedness to share with others, degree of comfort in a new place, as well as the usability of the site or tool.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Communities“]Groups of people communicating mainly through the Internet. They may simply have a shared interest to talk about … or more formally learn from each other and find solutions as a Community of Practice. Online communities may use email lists or forums, where content is centralized. Communities may also emerge from conversations around or between bloggers.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Competitive Analysis“]Assessment of the strengths and weaknesses of a business as compared to its competitors.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Competitive Intelligence“]Competitive intelligence essentially means understanding and learning what’s happening in the world outside your business so you can be as competitive as possible. It means learning as much as possible–as soon as possible–about your industry, and your competitor.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Confirmation“]A situation where the subscriber must authenticate the subscription request before more emails can be sent.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Confirmed opt-in“]“Single confirmed opt-in” and “double confirmed opt-in” are ways to collect opt-in email addresses and protect yourself from accusations of sending spam. Up until a few years ago, everyone used “single opt-in” web forms to collect email addresses for marketing campaigns. Visitors to a web page entered their name and email address, and that was it – it was understood that they had given their permission for the owner of the web page to send them email. However, if you use a single opt-in system, you can run into problems. For example, if someone enters the address of a friend or relative into your web form, that person could receive your newsletter or email promotions without ever having requested email from you – and they could accuse you of sending spam.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Consumer List“]When you’re targeting people, your list is considered a consumer list.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Content (Website Content)“]Writing specifically for web pages involves incorporating target keywords that tell the search engines what a specific web page is about. Effective content achieves two goals. The first goal is that it creates persuasive, informative content for the website visitor. The second goal is that it maintains an optimum keyword count for the search engines to index.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Content Network“]Content-driven ads displayed on non-Google sites through the Google AdSense affiliate network.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Contextual Advertising“]Displaying ads that match the nearby text on a web page. For example, if a user is viewing a website about downloading music, the ads displayed might be for a music program like iTunes or Limewire.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Conversion“]A website visitor completing a desired action. Types of conversions include signing up for a newsletter, buying a product or service, registering to receive more information, joining an email list, and other transactions.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Conversion Rate (1)“]A measure of the number of visitors who follow a call to action on a website. Calls to action include purchasing goods or services, subscribing to a newsletter or email list, contacting the website provider, entering personal information, etc.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Conversion Rate (2)“]The number of sales divided by the number of potential sales. You have 100 leads and you make 1 sale = 1/100 = conversion rate of 1%.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Copyright“]Sharing through social media is enhanced by attaching a Creative Commons license specifying, for example, that content may be re-used with attribution, provided that a similar license is then attached by the new author.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Co-Registration“]Referring leads, subscriptions, or memberships based on opt-in or opt-out preferences.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Cost-Per-Click (CPC)“]The estimated amount you will pay, calculated by the search engine, for each click-through from an ad to your website.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”CPA“]Cost per Acquisition.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”CPC“]Cost per Click.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”CPM“]Cost per Thousand.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Creative Commons“]A way to license your content so that people can share it.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Crowd-sourcing“]Refers to harnessing the skills and enthusiasm of those outside an organization who are prepared to volunteer their time contributing content and solving problems.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”CTR“]See Click-Through-Rate[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Culture“]Social media only works well in a culture of openness, where people are prepared to share. For that reason, commitment and attitude are as important as tools.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Daily“]A newspaper is a lightweight and disposable publication (more specifically, a periodical), usually printed on low-cost paper called newsprint. It may be general or special interest, and may be published daily, weekly, biweekly, monthly, bimonthly, or quarterly.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Database“]A database is a sort of electronic filing system that lets you store and organize information. Customers’ information stored in a database is often organized into separate fields according to name, email address, types of products purchased, and so on. You can search for specific information in a database buy using queries, then organize the information to create powerful, targeted marketing campaigns. For instance, if you were planning an online promotion, you could target specific customers by searching your database for all the customers who have bought one product but not another, or who live in a certain geographic area, or who have not made a purchase for more than three months….or all of the above.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Deadline“]The last possible time to get your ad to the media for inclusion in the slot you booked.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Deadline“]Including a deadline, or scarcity in your postcard message, is essential to its call-to-action.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Demographics“]Statistics regarding factors such as age, income, occupation, education, lifestyle, and interests. You will need to define your target market in terms of demographics.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Direct Mail“]A form of advertising often employed by businesses to reach targeted groups of potential customers by mail.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Direct Marketing“]A direct communication to a customer or business that is designed to generate a response in the form of an order, a request for further information, or a visit to a store or other place of business. (Also called Direct Response Advertising.)[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Direct Response“]The best definition of Direct Response is advertising and marketing that encourages a direct action from a person. Typically, you want someone to request additional information and you expect him or her to do it immediately. Your level of direct response is based on your sales message. You can measure the effectiveness of your advertising based on the response rate.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Directory“]A directory is a listing of millions of web sites – Yahoo! ( and LookSmart ( are two examples. Directories are not search engines, though many people confuse the two. In a directory, sites are reviewed by editors who organize them into categories like “business,” “education,” and “entertainment.”[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Display Ad“]An advertisement that uses graphics, as opposed to a classified ad, which uses only text.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Domain Name“]A domain name describes one or more IP addresses. Domain names are used in URLs to identify specific web pages. For example, in the URL “,” “” is the domain name. Every domain name is followed by a period, and then with a suffix that indicates which “top-level domain” it belongs to. The top-level domains used on the Internet include:
.gov (government agencies)
.edu (educational institutions)
.com (commercial businesses)
.net (network organizations)
.ca (Canada)
.mil (Military)[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Double Opt-In“]The recommended procedure for subscribing email recipients to an email list or newsletter. Once a person requests to subscribe to a list, a confirmation email message is automatically sent to the supplied email address asking the person to verify that he has, in fact, requested to be included in future mailings.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Download“]When you download a file, you transfer the file from another computer to your own. While there are a number of ways you can do this on the Internet, FTP, and email attachments are the most common. When you view a web page in your browser, you are essentially downloading the page from the server that it is hosted on.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Dynamic Keyword Insertion“]This allows you to dynamically put the keyword the searcher used in the engine in the title of your ad with these brackets “{keyword}”.(1) {KeyWord:Long Beach} = All words with initial caps (2) {Keyword:Long beach} = First word capitalized (3) {keyword:long beach} = All words in lower case.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”eBook“]An eBook (electronic book) is simply a book written in an electronic format so that it can be downloaded to your computer. Depending on the format of an eBook, you can either read the content on your computer or print a portable hard copy. eBooks are revolutionizing the world of online publishing because they are easy and affordable to publish and distribute.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”E-course“]For lead generation purposes, the e-course is designed as the free content you provide to your visitors in exchange for their contact information. E-learning often means an approach to facilitate and enhance information given to your potential prospects.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Email Blast“]An advertising or marketing message sent in bulk via email.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Email harvesting“]An automated process of collecting address through a robot program.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Email header“]The section of an email message that contains the sender’s and recipient’s email addresses as well as the routing information.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Email list“]Email lists or groups are important networking tools offering the facility to “starburst” a message from a central postbox to any number of subscribers, and for them to respond. Lists usually also offer a facility for reading and replying through a web page – so they can also operate like forums.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Email Marketing“]The use of email (or email lists) to plan and deliver permission-based marketing campaigns.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Emotion“]Emotion is what makes visitors want to buy your product or service. Logic alone will not sell anything. Use strong sales copy to trigger this emotional response.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Exact Match“]A keyword option by which you set your ad to be displayed only when the search phrase you define and that of the internet user match exactly. When you use this option, you put your keyword phrases in [brackets].[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Ezine“]An ezine is an “electronic magazine” that is emailed to a list of subscribers or posted on a website. Many ezines offer advertising space that is both highly targeted and affordable. Also, publishing your own ezine is an excellent way to establish your credibility as an expert in your field, and to win the trust (and business!) of your readers.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Face Side“]The U.S. Postal Service considers this the “front” of a postcard. This is also your prime selling space.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Face-to-Face (f2f)“]Used to describe people meeting offline. While social media may reduce the need to meet, direct contact gives far more clues, quickly, about a person than you can get online. Online interaction is likely to be richer after an f2f meeting.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Feeds“]The means by which you can read, view, or listen to items from blogs and other RSS-enabled sites without visiting the site, by subscribing and using an aggregator or newsreader. Feeds contain the content of an item and any associated tags without the design or structure of a web page.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Field“]A field is a space in a web form where a user is required to enter information. For example, an opt-in form for your free newsletter will be required to enter information. For example, an opt-in for your free newsletter will require that users fill in at least two fields: one for “Name” and one for “Email Address.” The information that users enter into a field on your web page is transferred to your database of subscriber information using a CGI script.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”First Class Mail“]First class mail delivers faster. And because people notice postage, using first class postage can produce far more results than standard mail, which initially is lower in cost.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Firewall“]A firewall is a program that protects a computer or network from unauthorized access through the Internet. If you’re not using firewall software, web surfers may be able to access (through your internet connection) information that is stored on your computer. Most companies that do business on the Internet install firewall software to prevent outsiders from accessing private company data.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Flicker“]A popular photo sharing site, where creativity, design, and sharing are valued.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”FTP“]FTP stands for “File Transfer Protocol,” which is a method of uploading and downloading files through the Internet. FTP used to be the only method available, but now there are simpler methods such as email attachments, PDF files, and HTML files.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Forums“]Discussion areas on websites, where people can post messages or comment on existing messages asynchronously – that is, independently of time or place. Chat is the synchronous equivalent.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Geographies“]In direct marketing, it is important to consider your target markets’ geographical location: city, state, zip code, and region.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Geo-Targeting“]Geographical targeting. Describes the distribution of your ad to Internet users in different countries, states, cities, and regions.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”GIF Files“]GIF (“Graphics Interchange Format”) files are the most common type of image files used on the internet. These files are compressed so that they take up a minimum amount of space, and can therefore be downloaded much faster than other graphics files. GIF files are limited to 256 colors, but can be animated (like a short video clip) or set transparent (to blend in with the background of a web page). They are typically used in web pages as backgrounds, banners, advertisements, and buttons.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Gigabyte“]A gigabyte is a unit that describes the storage capacity of a computer’s memory. One gigabyte of information is the equivalent of about one billion text characters (i.e., letters or numbers).[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Google“]Currently the most popular search engine, with the largest database and arguably the most accurate search results. Google pioneered the PageRank algorithm as a means of indexing websites and other web documents.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Graphics“]Graphics, such as photographs, illustrations, or graphs, are effective because they allow you to deliver a lot of information in a relatively small space. Photographs are more convincing than illustrations. Photos can increase your response rate by over 50%.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Groups“]Collections of individuals with some sense of unity through their activities, interests, or values. They are bounded: you are in a group, or not. They differ in this from networks, which are dispersed and defined by nodes and connections.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Hard bounces“]Email messages that cannot be delivered to the recipient because of a permanent error, such as an invalid or non-existing email address.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Hit“]Traffic to a website can be measured in “hits,” which describes the number of times a file (like a page or a graphic) is downloaded from a web server. However, counting hits is a poor way to measure web traffic. Here’s why… If your page has five graphics, you’ll count six hits every time someone views the page (one for the page, plus one for each graphic). Therefore, when someone claims that his web page has received over 1,000 hits, it may actually have received 100 actual visitors, if not less. Counting click-throughs provides advertisers with a far more accurate measurement of the effectiveness of a campaign.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Headline“]The most important element for a postcard is the headline. The headline is the ad for your ad. The prospect will make a decision to read your postcard based on his headline. It’s important to make the headline as strong and powerful as possible. Why? Because five times as many people read the headline as read the rest of a postcard. The headline has to instantly communicate what you want to say in simple language that anyone can understand. A headline should convey the single most important benefit of your product or service.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”HTML“]HyperText Markup Language is the code that browsers read and translate into a viewable webpage. HTML tells the browser where to put text, graphics, forms, tables, sound, video, color, etc. To see the HTML code behind any webpage on the Internet, simply open your web browser and select “view source” under the “view” menu. A great online HTML tutorial we recommend can be found at: or[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Hyperlink“]A hyperlink is a piece of text or a graphic that is “linked” to a web page (or to a specific location on a web page). When you click on a hyperlink, you are automatically transferred to its target page or location. Hyperlinks are usually blue in color and underlined. When they are activated, they change color. Hyperlinks also appear in the form of arrows, buttons, or graphics.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Impression“]The number of times a banner ad is downloaded from a server (and possibly viewed) is referred to as the number of “impressions” it receives. Banner advertising is usually sold on a cost per thousand basis (CPM). Advertisers use impressions to measure the effectiveness of an advertising campaign – but impressions, like hits, give a relatively inaccurate measurement of how many times a downloaded ad has actually been viewed. Users may be viewing web pages in a text-only browser, or they may not scroll far enough down a page to see the ad.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Industry Keywords“]The most popular search terms that drive actual traffic to sites in any selected industry. Industry Keywords enable you to compare the keywords you are currently getting traffic for, with that of your industry competitors.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Inquiry“]A list of those who have only inquired about your services, but have not actually purchased. This is great prospect information.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”IP address“]An IP (Internet Protocol) address appears as a set of four numbers separated by periods (e.g.,, and acts as a unique identifier for your computer when you are connected to a network or the internet. IP addresses are unique sets of registered numbers, and are often referred to as “internet addresses.” The InterNIC Registration Service assigns Internet addresses that identify a particular network and a particular web host on that network. Your web host then provides you with an IP address that is linked to your domain name.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”ISP“]Your ISP (Internet Service Provider) is the company that provides you with access to the internet. The ISP is (or should be) connected to the Internet 24 hours a day. If you have telephone dial-up access, your computer’s modem dials the phone number of the ISP, which then connects you to the Internet and allows you access to your email and the World Wide Web. If your ISP provides high-speed cable or DSL service, you have access to the Internet 24 hours a day – whenever your computer is turned on.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”KEI Ratio“]KEI (Keyword Effectiveness Indicator) is a way to measure how competitive a search phrase is in comparison to other search phrases. The higher the KEI, the better.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Keyphrase“]A two- or more-word phrase prospects would type into a search query box to find products and services like yours.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Keyword“]By entering keywords (or key phrases) into a search engine, you can locate web sites or information related to those keywords. For example, when searching for websites about dogs, you might use the keywords “dog,” “puppy,” “pet food,” “beagle,” and so on.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Keyword Combinations“]Terms that contain a set of targeted keywords ordered in different sequences.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Keyword Count (Occurrence)“]How often a keyword or keyword phrase occurs in a particular HTML page section. The keyword count is used in a calculation to determine the key word density.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Keyword Density“]Keyword Density is the ratio of the number of times a keyword appears within a web page’s text. Keyword Density measures the keyword density of all keywords on any page on any website. The density analysis results include the occurrence, popularity, and density of keywords from the page title, links, headings, and page body text.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Keyword Difficulty“]Keyword difficulty is used to analyze the competitive landscape of a particular search term or phrase. Keyword difficulty is a percentage score that will help you to determine how difficult it will be to rank for a particular term on the search engines.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Keyword Matching“]A set of options that, when applied to the keywords in your AdWords account, allow you to control the distribution of your ad. Through keyword matching, you “tell” the system how exactly to match your keywords with those of the people that make a search.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Keyword Popularity“]Keyword popularity is equal to the number of times a keyword is queried in the search engine’s database, usually estimated from the actual search counts of the previous month.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Keyword Predict“]The estimated daily search volume for any given keyword across all search engines provided by keyword tools and databases.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Keyword Relevance“]A measure of the relevance of a website to a keyword (or set of keywords) used in a search query. Keyword Relevance is primarily measured by the use of keywords in the title tag, meta tags, alternative text, hyperlink text, or document text of a website.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Keyword Research“]Discovery and analysis of keywords (or word) to target for a search engine marketing campaign.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Keyword Targeted Campaign“]A campaign where the advertiser selects keywords that will trigger ads from the campaign. Keyword-targeted ads can appear on search results pages, on content pages, and on other properties on the Google Network.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Keyword Theme“]In our terms, a theme can be many things such as a color scheme or subject matter, but in Google’s terms, a theme is the subject matter – the topic. The topic is what the web pages are about. Keyword themes make your search engine and pay-per-click campaigns irresistible to the search engines for high rankings.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Keyword Tool“]A free or subscription-based tool that provides collected search term data from 200 search engines world wide.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Keyword Variations“]Keyword variations include singular/plural forms, capitalization, relevant variants of your keywords, and phrases containing your keywords.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Landing Page“]The first page of yours that someone views. Usually, that person arrives at that page by following a link from some other site rather than typing in your web address. The landing page can be any one of your pages — home page, product page, registration page. It is most often a highly keyword-oriented page that will get it a high search engine ranking, also known as lead capture page, splash page, or squeeze page.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Lateral Search Terms“]A lateral search looks at page details such as keywords of pages that are thought to be competing or related to your topic. Doing a lateral search sometimes enables us to uncover keywords that we might otherwise miss, and which do not contain the term searched.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Lead Capture“]Means capturing or obtaining the contact information (name and email) of your site’s visitors. Your Lead Capture Page is a website or form on a website that can be promoted through any method of marketing, also known as a splash page or squeeze page.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Lifestyle“]A category in list building that determines leisurely activities, interests, and hobbies of different target markets.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Linked In“]A social network around business (see also Ryze, niche networking site, and Facebook).[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Links“]Highlighted text or images that, when clicked, jump you from one webpage or item of content to another. Bloggers use links a lot when writing to reference their own or other content.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”List Address“]The address used to distribute a message to a list.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”List Administrator“]The person who manages or owns an email list.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”List broker“]A company that sells or rents lists of email addresses. Some list brokers are not reputable and sell lists with unusable or unsubstantiated candidates. It is therefore advisable for email marketers to build their own internal lists.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”List Broker“]A person who sells and rents lists of names and addresses for direct mail campaigns.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”List Owner“]The owner of an email list defines the list’s charter and policy (i.e., what the list is about and what are the general rules that all subscribers must accept in order to be subscribed to the list).[/toggle]

[toggle title=”List Selects“]A list of terms that define your target audience, i.e., age, income level, children, interests.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”List Server“]The internet server that controls the distribution of a specific list.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Long Tail“]The economic concept first coined by Chris Anderson in 2004 to describe the distribution of wealth on the Internet. The Long Tail represents the millions of niche market audiences that drive the majority of sales for online business.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Long Tail Keywords“]Long tail keywords are keyword terms that are less popular, less competitive and less searched for, but when taken collectively, long tail keyword phrases can be responsible for driving significant levels of website traffic.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Lurkers“]People who read but don’t contribute or add comments to forums. The one percent rule-of-thumb suggests about one percent of people contribute new content to an online community, another nine percent comment, and the rest lurk. However, this may not be a passive role because content read on forums may spark interaction elsewhere.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Mailing List“]Your mailing list is the list of customers and subscribers who have given you their email addresses so that they may receive email from you. This list is one of the most valuable components of your business – and it should be treated as such! Never give or sell your list to anyone.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Mail server“]Your mail server is the computer (and the software it uses) that transmits, receives, and stores your email messages. It is located at your email client and/or your ISP.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Mashup“]Two or more things combined. One of the key principles of web 2.0 (see also re-mix).[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Mass Media“]Mass media refers to those media that are designed to be consumed by large audiences through the agencies of technology.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Maximum Cost Per Click (Max CPC/Bid)“]The maximum price that an advertiser is willing to pay for each click. Generally, the advertiser pays a smaller cost-per-click than their maximum bid. The Max Bid goes into determining the ranking of an ad in the sponsored results for a search.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Membership“]Involves belonging to a group. Networking can offer some of the benefits of group membership, without the need for as much central coordination. A rise in networking may present challenges for organizations that depend on membership for funds or to demonstrate credibility.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Meta Tag“]An HTML tag that gives information about the content of a website. Meta tags are non-visible text that help define your website for search engine spiders.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Misspelled Keywords“]Errors in spelling. You have to take them into consideration when building your keyword list. The reason is that many people type their search phrases with misspellings, but they are still potential targeted traffic for you.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”MSN Search“]Microsoft’s search engine at The service has also recently started providing its search results to other search engine portals in an effort to better compete for the market share.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Natural Search Results (Organic Listings)“]The non-sponsored results that are delivered by a search engine when a user enters a search term. These results are displayed at the left of the search engine’s results page when somebody makes a search.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Negative Keywords“]Use negative matching to eliminate certain searches that may be irrelevant to your website. You can add a negative sign (-) before the keyword that you wish to use to prevent your ads from displaying.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Networks“]Structures defined by nodes and the connections between them. In social networks, the nodes are people, and the connections are the relationships that they have. Networking is the process by which you develop and strengthen those relationships.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Newsletter“]A set of articles or summaries of information delivered in a specific format.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Offer“]The offer you make in a direct mail package needs to be carefully thought out and matched as closely as possible to the interests, needs, and motivations of the list. As a rule of thumb, the more specifically matched the offer and list, the higher the response rate.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Offline“]Means not online, that is, not connected to the Internet. It may refer to an unconnected computer, or activities taking place without the benefit (or perhaps distraction) of a connection.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Openness“]Being prepared to share and collaborate – something aided by social media. Open source software – developed collaboratively with few constraints on its use – is a technical example. In order to be open online you may offer share-alike copyright licenses, and you may tag content and link generously to other people’s content. This demonstrates open source thinking.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Open-up Rate“]The percentage of recipients who opened their email messages. The open-up rate is often used to measure the success of an email marketing campaign.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Open-up Tracking“]The process of tracking how many recipients opened their email messages as part of an email marketing campaign. Open-up tracking is only possible using HTML mail.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Operating System“]A program that manages all other programs in a computer, such as Windows or Unix.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Optimization“]The process of improving a website for search engine visibility. Optimization may include building keyword density, link popularity, search engine compatibility, and improving website content.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Opt-In“]When you opt into a mailing list, you give someone your email address, usually by entering it into a web form. By opting in, you give them permission to add you to their opt-in mailing list and send you email – usually in the form of a newsletter or ezine. You may also fill out an opt-in form in order to be entered in a contest, or to receive a free eBook or whitepaper.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Opt-Out“]An approach to email marketing in which customers are included in email campaigns or newsletters until they specifically request not to be subscribed any longer. This method is not recommended and could illegal in some cases.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Organic Search Results (Organic Listings)“]The non-sponsored results that are delivered by a search engine when a user enters a search term. These results are displayed at the left of the search engine’s results page when somebody makes a search.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Overture“]A search engine that returns results based on paid placement rather than algorithmic rankings. Overture is currently owned by Yahoo![/toggle]

[toggle title=”Page Rank“]The algorithm used to determine the hierarchy of pages and websites in the search engine index. Devised by Google, Page Rank is a measure of the quality and quantity of traffic, links, visitors, and keyword content of a website.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Pay-Per-Click (PPC)“]An advertising payment model that allows advertisers to bid on keywords and pay only when the ad is clicked, thus paying for actual traffic rather than page impressions. The highest keyword bidders receive the highest rankings in search engine results pages and, therefore, the most traffic. The PPC model was first introduced to search by Overture, and made famous by the enormous profits generated by Google’s Adsense and Adwords programs.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”PDF“]PDF stands for “Portable Document Format.” Like HTML or text, it is a way of formatting a file. PDF is promoted and marketed by Adobe Systems, Inc., and is widely used with eBooks, newsletters, ezines, and other online versions of print publications. Both Windows and Mac users can read PDF files using Adobe Acrobat Reader. For a free copy of Acrobat Reader, go to:[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Peer to Peer“]Refers to direct interaction between two people in a network. In that network, each peer will be connected to other peers, opening the opportunity for further sharing and learning.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Permission Marketing“]Permission marketing is a term used in emarketing. Marketers will ask permission before they send advertisements to prospective customers. It is used by some internet marketers, email marketers, and telephone marketers. It requires that people first “opt-in,” rather than allowing people to “opt-out” only after the ads have been sent.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Personalization“]The insertion of personal greetings in email messages (for instance “Dear John” rather than the generic “Dear Customer”). Personalization requires sophisticated email list management software that allows for so-called mail-merge operations.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Phrase Match“]The option that limits your ad to be displayed only when somebody types in the search box a phrase that includes your keywords, in the same order. Surrounding a keyword phrase with “quotation marks” makes the ad appear only when a user searches for the words in that order, combined with other search terms.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Platform“]The framework or system within which tools work. That platform may be as broad as mobile telephony, or as narrow as a piece of software that has different modules like blogs, forums, and wikis in a suite of tools. As more and more tools operate “out there” on the web rather than on your desktop, people refer to the “Internet” as the platform.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Podcast“]Audio or video content that can be downloaded automatically through a subscription to a website so you can view or listen offline.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Positioning“]The concept of positioning has been around for 30 years. Positioning is the process of placing your company’s image or identity foremost in the minds of customers.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Press Release“]A public relations announcement issued to the news media and other targeted publications for the purpose of letting the public know of an important event or piece of information about your company. A press release is a great way to increase your search engine visibility since your company will be featured as current top news in your industry.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Privacy Policy“]A privacy policy is an essential tool for every email marketer. It is a public statement declaring that you will never share, sell, or give away the email addresses that the people on your mailing list have entrusted with you. If you will be sending email to a mailing list, you must develop a privacy policy and post it on your web site. The following is an example of a typical privacy policy:[/toggle]

[Company name] supports the right of personal privacy and corporate security on the Internet. [Company name] will never sell or market names, email addresses, or any other privileged information about out clients or subscribers.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Profiles“]The information that you provide about yourself when signing up for a social networking site. As well as a picture and basic information, this may include your personal and business interests, a “blurb” about yourself, and tags to help people search for like-minded people.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Profit Signals“]The profit signal informs you at a glance if a keyword is profitable. The profit signal is an indicator of whether the keyword is likely to produce conversions (leads and sales). This makes it simple to eliminate keywords that are likely to waste ad dollars.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”R/S Ratio“]Results-To-Searches Ratio, the ratio of the number of websites listed versus the number of times the keyword is searched for on the search engine. For the R/S Ratio, the lower the R/S Ratio the better.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Ranking“]The position of your site in a search engine’s natural results, when a user enters a particular search term. Ranking – or ad rank – also refers to the position a pay-per-click ad is placed in the sponsored listings, as determined by Max Bid, and click-through-rate.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Rate“]Amount of a charge or payment relative to the individual newspaper for advertising.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Related Keywords“]Closely related keywords and search phrases that are relevant to your website or business that you are not the obvious search terms.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Relevancy“]The accuracy of the match between the keyword typed in the search box by an Internet user and the results returned by the search engine.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Remixing“]Social media offers the possibility of taking different items of content, identified by tags and published through feeds, and combining them in different ways. You can do this with other people’s content if they add an appropriate copyright license.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Repetition“]Delivering a single message or a series of messages for the same offer several times to the same group of people.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”ROI (Return on Investment)“]Percentage of profit returned for the funds invested to produce it. In terms of search engine optimization, ROI refers to the sales directly attributed to an SEO or SEM campaign.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Roles“]Parties need hosting, committees need chairing, or working groups that may need facilitation. Online networks and communities need support from people who may be called, for example, technology stewards or network weavers. Champions are the core group of enthusiasts you need to start a community.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”RSS“]Short for Really Simple Syndication. This allows you to subscribe to content on blogs and other social media and have it delivered to you through a feed.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Sales Copy“]If you’re selling products or services on the Internet, you need to use words to sell. You need cleverly written sales copy that triggers desire and takes away the visitor’s resistance. Good sales copy is the most important part of your overall Internet marketing strategy.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Search Engine“]Search engines are essential Internet tools, used for locating websites related to particular subjects. When you visit a search engine website, you type in keywords or key phrases, and the search engine locates the websites that match your keywords. Each search engine has different criteria by which it searches and lists websites – so you will get different results by searching for the same keyword combinations in different search engines.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Search Engine Marketing (SEM)“]The process of marketing a website through search engines. Search engine marketing drives traffic by paying for ad words, page rank, and/or inbound links.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Search Engine Market Share“]This feature shows the percentage of a keyword’s searches performed on the major search engines; Google, Yahoo, and MSN.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Search Engine Optimization“]Search engine optimization differs from Search Engine Marketing in that SEO involves only natural (unpaid) techniques to improve search engine ranking, and SEM involves paid ads or paid placement. Both SEO and SEM are used to increase website traffic, conversions, page rank, and ROI.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Search Network“]Ads displayed on Google search results pages and their Search network, which includes Froogle, Google Groups, and search sites such as and AOL.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Search Query“]The keyword, keyphrase, or list of words that you type into a search engine to find relevant websites.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Search Spider (or Spyder)“]A program that constantly scans the internet to collect information for search engines. Spiders follow internal and external links to create an index of all documents on the Internet. Also called a “crawler.”[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Search Term“]The same as a keyword. A word or phrase through which a person defines what he is looking for. The phrase is used to inquire the database of indexed pages of a search engine.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Searching“]Searching for information on the Net is done using a search engine, of which Google is the best known. Specialist search engines like Technorati concentrate on blogs. As well as searching by word or phrase, you can search on tags, and so find content others have keyworded.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Seasonal Search Trends“]Seasonal trends can help you determine the ideal timing for marketing campaigns, to predict traffic levels during low peak periods like the holidays, or simply to view the change in demand for a product or service throughout the year.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Secure Server“]If you are planning to conduct credit card transactions or collect personal information at your web site, you will need access to a secure server. A secure server encrypts personal information (i.e., converts it into a secret code) to make sure it cannot be viewed by unauthorized users. When you view a secure page, your web browser will display a picture of a lock or key to indicate that the page is secure. Check with your web host to see whether they have secure server capabilities. If you have yet to choose a web host, this is a feature that you may want to ask about. Look for a web host with low or no additional setup fees. Note, though, that your entire site does not need to be secured – just your order page.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Segmenting Your List“]Using several qualifiers, including specific demographic, geographic, and lifestyle criteria to hone in on a select group of people that are most likely to respond to your offer.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Server“]A server is a computer dedicated to storing files. Web Hosting companies store (or “host”) websites on their servers for a monthly or annual fee.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Site Targeted Campaign“]Site targeting lets AdWords advertisers choose individual sites in the Google content network where they’d like their ads to appear. You can select sites for your site-targeted campaign in two ways: Name the specific websites where you’d like to advertise, or use a list of keywords that describe your site.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Social Media“]The terms for the tools and platforms people use to publish, converse, and share content online. The tools include blogs, wikis, podcasts, and sites to share photos and bookmarks.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Social Networking“]Social networking sites are online places where users can create a profile for themselves, and then socialize with others using a range of social media tools including blogs, video, images, tagging, lists of friends, forums, and messaging.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Soft Bounces“]Email messages that cannot be delivered to the recipient because of a temporary error, such as a full mailbox.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Source code“]Source code is the original program instructions (usually written in HTML) that make up a webpage. You can view the source code of any webpage in Internet Explorer/and or Firefox by selecting “View Source” from the “View” menu.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Spam“]Spam is unsolicited commercial email. You are “spamming” people if you send email to people who have not given you permission to do so. If you send spam, be prepared for serious consequences: Your email messages may be caught in spam filters, your email account may be blacklisted by spam-fighting organizations (or shut down by your ISP), and your web host may suspend your service.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Sponsors“]Pay-per-click advertising campaigns. Sponsored ads are usually found at the top or at the sidebar of the search engine results.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Standard Mail (formerly third-class or bulk rate)“]Mail with a delivery time of 5-20 days. You must pay an annual fee for the permit, which authorizes you to mail at bulk rates.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Subject Line“]The part of an email message where senders can type what the email message is about. Subject lines are considered important by email marketers because they can often influence whether a recipient will open an email message.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Submission“]The act of supplying a URL to a search engine in an attempt to make a search engine aware of a website or page.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Subscribing“]The process of adding an RSS feed to your aggregator or newsreader. It’s the online equivalent of signing up for a magazine, but usually free.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Sunday Edition“]Highest circulation, highest readership, most effective advertising day.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Tags“]Keywords attached to a blog post, bookmark, photo, or other item of content so you and others can find them easily through searches and aggregation.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Target Marketing“]A portion of a market that you’ve identified as having some special characteristic that is worth marketing to. Your target should arise naturally from your interests and experience. For example, if you spent the last 10 years as a realtor, you may decide to start marketing to people in the real estate industry because you are familiar with their mind-set.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Targeting“]Using demographics and related information in a customer database to select the most appropriate recipients for a specific campaign.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Technorati“]Way to listen to and find blog entries. It’s like Google for blogs. In addition, it ranks blogs based on its own system of authority.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Terms of Services“]The basis on which you agree to use a forum or other web-based place for creating or sharing content. Check before agreeing what rights the site owners may claim over your content.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Threads“]Strands of conversation. On an email list or web forum, they will be defined by messages that use the same subject. On blogs, they are less clearly defined, but emerge through comments and trackbacks.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Trackback“]Some blogs provide a facility for other bloggers to leave a calling card automatically, instead of commenting. Blogger A may write on blog A about an item on blogger B’s site, and through the trackback facility leave a link on B’s site back to A. The collection of comments and trackbacks on a site facilitates conversations.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Tracking“]In an email marketing campaign, measuring behavioral activities such as click-throughs and open-ups.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Trade Journal“]A periodical publication focusing on matters concerning a particular industry or group of industries. Also called a “trade publication.” Examples include: Publishers Weekly, Women’s Wear Daily, or Today’s Chemist at Work.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Traffic (referring to website traffic)“]The amount of visitors and visits a website receives. Website traffic is very important, as you can’t have conversions without visitors.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Traffic“]The number of people that visit your webpage, being led there by your marketing campaigns. Traffic may be measured by hits, impressions, clicks, page views, visitors, unique visitors, or other indications of website activity.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Transparency“]Enhancing searching, sharing, self-publish, and commenting across networks. Makes it easier to find out what’s going on in any situation where there is online activity.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Unique Selling Position“]A USP is the strongest benefit your business has over competition. Your USP should show that by using your product or service, the prospect will get a particular benefit not available from anyone else.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Unique visitor“]Unique visitors to a website or webpage are tracked by their unique IP addresses, which are much like online fingerprints. However, counting unique visitors to measure the success of an online promotion can be very misleading. For several technical reasons, a single IP address may not necessarily reflect a single or truly “unique” visitor.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Unsubscribe“]To remove a subscriber from an email list.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Unsubscribe link“]If you are sending email messages to an opt-in mailing list, you MUST include an unsubscribe link in the body of every message. An unsubscribe link sends a message to the list owner (in this case, to you) requesting that the recipient of the original email be removed from the sender’s list. If you send a promotional email without including an unsubscribe link, you may be accused of sending spam.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Upload“]To transfer a file or other content from your computer to an Internet site. You can also upload information when you transfer it from your own computer to another computer. For example, after you create a webpage from your own computer, you upload it to the server of your web host, where it is posted on the World Wide Web.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”URL“]URL stands for “Uniform Resource Locator.” Your URL is the online address of your website or webpage. For example, the URL of the The SixFigure Mentors is[/toggle]

[toggle title=”User Created Content (UCC)“]User created content, whether design, music, video, or some multi-media mashup.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Viral Marketing“]A marketing strategy that encourages email recipients to pass along messages to others in order to generate additional exposure.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Visibility“]Measure of a website’s ranking in search engines or directories.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Voice Broadcast“]Voice broadcasting and voice mail broadcast allows you to instantly send hundreds or even thousands of interactive phone calls with ease while managing the entire process right from the Web.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Voice Over Internet Protocol (VOIP)“]Enables you to use a computer or other Internet device for phone calls without additional charge.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Web 2.0“]A term coined by O’Reilly Media in 2004 to describe blogs, wikis, social networking sites, and other Internet-based services that emphasize collaboration and sharing, rather than less interactive publishing (Web 1.0). It is associated with the idea of the Internet as a platform.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Web form“]A web form is an HTML form that contains fields for collecting information. In order to send the collected information to the owner of the form, a web form needs to incorporate a programming script (usually a CGI script).[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Web Host“]A web hosting company sells online “space” where websites are stored (or “hosted”). A web host’s computers are (ideally) connected to the Internet 24 hours a day so that web surfers around the world can access your page at any time.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Weekly“]A weekly newspaper, or semi-weekly newspaper is usually a smaller publication than a larger, daily newspaper (such as one that covers a metropolitan area). Unlike these metropolitan newspapers, a weekly newspaper will cover a smaller area, such as one or more smaller towns or an entire county.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Whitelist“]A list of pre-authorized email addresses from which email messages can be delivered regardless of spam filters.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Wiki“]A webpage – or set of pages – that can be edited collaboratively. The best known example is wikipedia, an encyclopedia created by thousands of contributors across the world. Once people have appropriate permissions – set by the wiki owner – they can create pages and/or add to and alter existing pages.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”WordPress“]The best free blogging platform. Its free themes, plug-ins, user friendly, capabilities, and community features make it arguably the best platform (see also Typepad and Blogger).[/toggle]

[toggle title=”Yahoo!“]A search engine that returns results based on paid placement rather than algorithmic rankings. Yahoo! is often referred to as Overture.[/toggle]

[toggle title=”YouTube“]One of many video sharing sites. It is currently the largest and owned by Google (see also Blip.TV, BlogTV, Seesmic, Vimeo, Viddler, UStream, and others). There are a host of video sharing sites around niche topics like Do-it-Yourself and How-to.[/toggle]


Leave a reply


Now available on amazon prime

eBook (Amazon)

The Testers Book - An Unconventional Way to Software Testing - Revised Edition

Paperback (